CIS men's hockey roster announced for series vs. National Junior Team prospects

CIS men's hockey roster announced for series vs. National Junior Team prospects

Photo credit Mona Ghiz

OTTAWA (CIS) – Canadian Interuniversity Sport unveiled Monday its roster for a two-game exhibition series between CIS men's hockey all-stars and Canada's National Junior Team prospects in two weeks.

The two-game set, which was announced earlier this month, will take place at the MasterCard Centre in Toronto on Saturday, Dec. 12 at 7:30 p.m. EST and Sunday, Dec. 13 at noon EST as part of the National Junior Team's preparation for the 40th IIHF World Junior Championship in Finland (Dec. 26 – Jan. 5).

The 23-player CIS lineup – including 20 with CHL experience - is comprised of 11 standouts from the OUA conference and six apiece from the AUS and Canada West leagues.

Highlighting the university squad are two members of the reigning two-time University Cup champion Alberta Golden Bears, a pair of former NHL draft picks, as well as the current CIS leaders in scoring, goals and goaltending.

"I know I speak on behalf of our entire coaching staff when I say we're very pleased with the makeup of this team," said head coach Shawn Camp from the University of Guelph, who will be accompanied behind the bench by assistant coaches Darren Burns from Acadia, Brett Gibson from Queen's and Mike Sirant from Manitoba. "In order to compete with the National Junior Team we need to have players who have speed, skill and mobility, and we certainly have that when you look at the individuals on this roster. We know these guys will compete hard and play with composure."

Protecting the CIS net in Toronto will be goaltenders Kevin Bailie from Queen's, Corbin Boes from Dalhousie and Jordon Cooke from Saskatchewan.

Bailie, a former CIS rookie of the year who played five OHL seasons with Oshawa and London, currently leads the nation in goals against average (1.79) and save percentage (.946) in nine conference games with the Gaels.

On defence, the eight-member unit includes Spencer Abraham of Queen's, Kenny Bradford of Windsor, Tim Campbell of Lethbridge, Samuel Labrecque of McGill, Martin Lefebvre of UQTR, Jordan Murray of UNB, Matthew Pufahl of Acadia and Jordan Rowley of Alberta.

Labrecque, in his second season with the Redmen after transferring from Clarkson (NCAA), leads all CIS skaters after 16 league games with a whopping 29 points (13-16-29) and nine power-play markers.

The 12 forwards selected are Guillaume Asselin of UQTR, Colin Behenna of Waterloo, Jordan DePape of Manitoba, Tyler Fiddler of Mount Royal, Liam Heelis of McGill, Olivier Hinse of Concordia, Eric Locke of St. Francis Xavier, Stephen MacAulay of Saint Mary's, Chris Maniccia of Brock, Michael McNamee of Carleton, Kruise Reddick of Alberta, as well as Alex Saulnier of Moncton.

Asselin, who spent five campaigns in the QMJHL with Montreal and Chicoutimi, has a CIS-leading 15 goals in 16 OUA contests this fall, including a trio of game-winners.

Locke and MacAulay are both former NHL draft picks. The former was selected by Buffalo in the seventh round in 2013 (189th overall) after skating for Windsor, Barrie and Saginaw in the OHL, while the latter was chosen by St. Louis in the sixth round in 2010 (164th overall) after five QMJHL seasons with Saint John and Halifax.

NOTE: Hockey Canada will announce the lineup of players invited to the National Junior Team selection camp on Dec. 1.


No. - Name - University - Hometown -  HT -  WT  - Age - CIS Elig.

30 Kevin Bailie Queen's Belleville, Ont. 6-3 195 23 3
1 Corbin Boes Dalhousie Saskatoon, Sask. 6-3 224 22 2
31 Jordon Cooke Saskatchewan Leduc, Alta. 5-10 185 22 2

9 Spencer Abraham Queen's Campbellville, Ont. 5-10 172 22 2
3 Kenny Bradford Windsor St. Catharines, Ont. 6-2 225 24 4
15 Tim Campbell Lethbridge Thornhill, Ont. 6-1 188 24 4
6 Samuel Labrecque McGill Granby, Que. 5-6 182 23 5
4 Martin Lefebvre UQTR Terrebonne, Que. 5-11 185 23 3
5 Jordan Murray UNB Riverview, N.B. 6-1 205 22 3
8 Matthew Pufahl Acadia Saskatoon, Sask. 6-2 208 22 2
2 Jordan Rowley Alberta Edmonton, Alta. 6-0 180 25 5

10 Guillaume Asselin UQTR Quebec City, Que. 5-11 194 23 3
22 Colin Behenna Waterloo Waterloo, Ont. 5-8 170 24 4
19 Jordan DePape Manitoba Winnipeg, Man. 6-0 190 23 3
23 Tyler Fiddler Mount Royal Prince Albert, Sask. 5-11 185 25 5
17 Liam Heelis McGill Georgetown, Ont. 6-0 197 25 5
18 Olivier Hinse Concordia Sherbrooke, Que. 6-2 220 24 4
14 Eric Locke StFX Toronto, Ont. 5-10 185 22 2
16 Stephen MacAulay Saint Mary's Cole Harbour, N.S. 6-2 185 23 3
7 Chris Maniccia Brock St. Catharines, Ont. 5-11 190 21 3
12 Michael McNamee Carleton Perth, Ont. 6-2 191 23 3
11 Kruise Reddick Alberta Manor, Sask. 5-9 180 25 5
21 Alex Saulnier Moncton Cap-Pelé, N.B. 5-11 191 23 3


Head Coach: Shawn Camp (University of Guelph)
Assistant Coach: Darren Burns (Acadia University)
Assistant Coach: Brett Gibson (Queen's University)
Assistant Coach: Mike Sirant (University of Manitoba)
Trainer: Natalie Paladino (University of Guelph)
Trainer: Shelby Stableford (University of Guelph)
Equipment Manager: Sam Asaro (University of Toronto)
Equipment Manager: Dave Storey (University of Guelph)


Kevin Bailie Oshawa (2008-09 / 2011-12), London (2012-13)
Corbin Boes Brandon (2010-11 / 2012-13), Lethbridge (2013-14), Portland (2013-14)
Jordon Cooke Kelowna (2010-11 / 2013-14)

Spencer Abraham Brampton (2010-11 / 2012-13), Erie (2012-13 / 2013-14)
Kenny Bradford (GOJHL product – St. Catharines Falcons)
Tim Campbell Guelph (2008-09 / 2010-11)
Samuel Labrecque (NCAA transfer - Clarkson)
Martin Lefebvre Quebec (2008-09 / 2012-13)
Jordan Murray Acadie-Bathurst (2010-11 / 2011-12), Drummondville (2012-13)
Matthew Pufahl Red Deer (2010-11 / 2011-12), Saskatoon (2011-12 / 2012-13), Everett (2013-14)
Jordan Rowley Kamloops (2005-06 / 2008-09), Prince Albert (2008-09 / 2010-11)

Guillaume Asselin Montreal (2008-09 / 2009-10), Chicoutimi (2010-11 / 2012-13)
Colin Behenna Barrie (2008-09 / 2011-12)
Jordan DePape Brandon (2009-10), Kamloops (2009-10 / 2012-13), Red Deer (2012-13)
Tyler Fiddler Calgary (2007-08 / 2010-11)
Liam Heelis Peterborough (2006-07 / 2009-10), Owen Sound (2010-11)
Olivier Hinse Victo. (08-09 / 09-10), Que. (09-10 / 11-12), Sherb. (11-12), B.-Boisbriand (11-12)
Eric Locke Windsor (2010-11), Barrie (2010-11 / 2011-12), Saginaw (2011-12 / 2013-14)
Stephen MacAulay Saint John (2008-09 / 2012-13), Halifax (2012-13)
Chris Maniccia (NCAA transfer – UMass Lowell)
Michael McNamee Quebec (2011-12), Sherbrooke (2012-13)
Kruise Reddick Tri-City (2006-07 / 2010-11)
Alex Saulnier Moncton (2009-10 / 2012-13)

About Hockey Canada

Hockey Canada is the governing body for hockey in Canada and a member of the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF), with a membership through its 13 provincial branch associations of over 700,000 players, coaches and officials. Hockey Canada is a not-for-profit organization that creates leading-edge hockey development programs for its members to deliver in communities across Canada; provides consistent rules and regulations and various other membership services from coast to coast to coast; manages numerous regional, national, and international hockey championships and events; and leads the operation of all teams that represent Canada in international ice hockey competition. Hockey Canada's mission is to "lead, develop and promote positive hockey experiences." For more information on Hockey Canada, please visit or follow through social media on Facebook and Twitter.